United Houma Nation


14 Sep

Three New Council People Will Join UHN Tribal Council on September 22nd

Posted by United Houma Nation on Friday, September 14, 2018

On Saturday, September 22, 2018, the United Houma Nation will have a fully seated Tribal Council for the first time in a number of years.  Districts 8, 9 and 11 will be filled by first time Council Members.  The meeting will take place at the Dularge Fire Station, located at 1767 Bayou Dularge Road, Theriot, Louisiana.  The meeting begins at 10am with the swearing in of these positions taking place first on the agenda.

District 8 - Gretchen Boudreaux

Gretchen Boudreaux of Marrero will be sworn in to represent District 8, which includes the areas on the westbank of Jefferson parish of Marrero, Barataria, Lafitte and Harvey.  Ms. Boudreaux is filling the seat left vacant by current Principal Chief August Creppel.

Gretchen has been active in District 8 at the community level for a number of years and was an active parent in the Jefferson Parish Indian Education Program when her children where in school.  

District 9 - Paul Gisclair, Jr.

Paul Gisclair, Jr. is filling the District 9 seat that has been vacant for a number of years last filled by Mr. Ernest Brunet.  Mr. Gisclair resides in Westwego.  District 9 is the remaining areas of Jefferson parish includding Metairie, Kenner, Harahan, Jefferson, Waggaman, Westwego, Bridge City and Avondale.

Mr. Gisclair is self-employed is is pleased to be serving his tribal community.

District 11 - Dixie Breaux

Dixie Breaux of Lockport will be filling the vacant seat left by Mr. Michael Dardar of Raceland.  Ms. Breaux was previously involved as a youth leader with the UHN and went on to work with Lafourche Parish Indian Education as the Youth Leadership Coordinator.  

District 11 comprises the upper areas of Lafourche parish including the area of Cut Off noth of the South Lafourche Bidge as divided by East 90th Street along Hwy. 308 and Tarpon Pass between LA 1 and Hwy. 3235, Larose, Lockport, Mathews, Gheens, Raceland and Thibodaux.  

All of the newly elected Council Members are welcome additions to the Tribal Council.